About the University of Bucharest

The University of Bucharest is the main academic center of Bucharest and was founded by the Decree no. 765 of July 4th 1864 by Prince Alexandru Ioan Cuza. The University united the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Letters. Later on, the Faculty of Chemistry (1948), the Faculty of Biology (1958), the Faculty of Physics (1962) and the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (1962) were created and joined the University of Bucharest.

Since the 1990s, the University of Bucharest has undergone a complex process of revival, setting up new faculties, reorganizing the higher education field, redefining priorities for the institutional development, both at a national and international level.

The University of Bucharest is also known as one of the most important research centers in the country, currently comprising over 50 institutes, departments, research centers, and 5 research platforms.

Faculties in University of Bucharest

The University of Bucharest offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses in social sciences, humanities, and natural sciences. It consists of nineteen faculties, each specialized in an academic field.

The University's Faculties are the following: Mathematics and Informatics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Geography, Geology and Geophysics, Business and Administration, Law, History, Sociology, Psychology and Education Sciences, Political Sciences, Philosophy, Journalism, Letters, Foreign Languages and Literature, Orthodox, Roman-Catholic, and Baptist Theology.


International exchanges

Because it is active on an international level, the most significant aspects of the international co-operation activity are: bilateral inter-university and inter-departmental co-operation in teaching and research and participating in European and international programs. Currently, they have concluded scholastic/academic exchange agreements with 145 universities and 50 departments.

As part of on-going ERASMUS program, the University of Bucharest has approximately 225 Erasmus agreements with European partner universities, which give students and staff the opportunity to study or train abroad, to teach abroad for certain periods of time, to participate in common projects of curriculum implementations, in intensive courses or thematic activities regarding the development of a particular field of study.